PRISMA Concerto Competition Rules

  1. Eligibility:
  • The concerto competition is open to all students accepted to PRISMA.
  • Previous First Prize winners are excluded.
  1. Structure:
  • Two categories: Strings and Others (Woodwinds, Brass, Percussion).
  • One winner from each category will perform with the PRISMA Festival Orchestra.
  1. Competition Entry:
  • Indicate your intent to enter the competition during your PRISMA application.
  1. Repertoire Selection:
  • Competitors choose a piece of their own choice; it is advised to be around 10 minutes but may not exceed 15 minutes.
  1. Two rounds:
  • The competition consists of two rounds: the preselection and the actual competition.
  1. Preselection Round:
  • Submit an unedited video via YouTube (important: choose the “unlisted” or “public” setting when uploading to YouTube).
  • Send the YouTube link to before April 15, 2024.
  • Accompaniment is optional.
  • Once the video is submitted, changes in repertoire are not allowed.
  • The selected students will be announced by email.
  1. Competition Round:
  • The competition round takes place during PRISMA.
  • Competitors must be performed from memory in the Competition Round.
  • The competition round is open to the public.
  • Piano accompaniment is provided for this round.
  • A detailed rehearsal schedule will be provided during PRISMA.
  1. Jury:
  • The jury is comprised of PRISMA’s Artistic Director and selected international guest artists.
  1. Scores and Parts:
  • Participants must bring a piano reduction, full orchestra score, and orchestra parts to PRISMA.
  • It is advised to select an entry in the public domain that has parts available online, for example, in the IMSLP library.
  1. Performance Order:
  • The Artistic Director determines the order of performance.
  1. Prizes:
  • There are two grand prizes of $1,000 CAD each, one for the winner of the string category and one for the woodwind/brass/percussion category.
  • Both winners will perform as soloists with the PRISMA Festival Orchestra.
  • Both winners will receive an invitation to the following year’s festival on a full scholarship.
  • The winner of the Audience Favorite Award will receive a prize of $500 CAD.

12.  All decisions of the jury are final.

Past Winners



Maya Kilburn

Violin (USA)
The Juilliard School of Music



Yein Son

Viola (Republic of Korea)
Stonybrook University & Yale School of Music



Julie Lin

Violin (Canada)
Colburn Conservatory of Music



Taylor Fleshman

Harp (USA)
University of Cincinnati



Noemi Sallai

Clarinet (Hungary)
Juilliard School of Music



Trevor Barroero

Percussion (USA)
University of Arizona



Shannon Fitzhenry

Violin (USA)
Peabody Institute



Nicholas Bentz

Violin (USA)
Peabody Institute



Stefani Feldman

Clarinet (USA)
University of Southern California